Arizona has had an all-offender ignition interlock device (IID) law since 2007, proving the state’s commitment to fighting drunk drivers. Arizona DUI law prohibits driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, any drug, or a vapor releasing substance containing a toxic substance if the person is impaired to the slightest degree.
That’s just one way to get an Arizona DUI. Arizona is a zero-tolerance state, which means an officer can arrest the driver if the officer believes them to be impaired, even if the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is less than .08%. This is about two drinks for a 160-pound woman and three drinks for a 220-pound man. A “drink” constitutes 12 ounces of 5 percent beer, 5 ounces of 12 percent wine and 1.5 ounces of 40 percent liquor. Timing and other factors will impact this.
You can classify Arizona DUIs into four tiers:
- Standard DUI: The first tier involves a BAC of 0.08 percent (or if the officer believes you’re impaired) if you’re 21 or over. The legal limit lowers to 0.04 percent if you’re driving a commercial vehicle and 0.00 percent if you’re underage.
- Extreme DUI: You can get slapped with an “extreme DUI” if you’re caught driving with a BAC of 0.15 percent or higher. This higher tier means harsher consequences.
- Super extreme DUI: An additional 0.05 percent to your BAC from the “extreme DUI” range (0.20 percent BAC or more) lands you in the “super extreme DUI” zone along with some “super” consequences.
- Aggravated DUI: If you’re driving with a revoked, canceled or suspended drivers license, If you’re caught and this is your third (or more) DUI within seven years, or if you’re driving drunk with a minor who’s under 15, that is an aggravated DUI.
Attempting to drink and drive with an interlock device installed in your vehicle also counts as an aggravated Arizona DUI.
Standard, extreme and super extreme DUIs are classified as class 1 misdemeanors in Arizona. The consequences range from 10 to 180 days in jail, fines between $1,500 and $4,650, and a host of suspensions and restrictions. An aggravated DUI is a class 4 felony unless it’s because you’re driving drunk with someone under 15, that’s a class 6 felony, which is less severe. The fines and jail time for and aggravated DUI varies, but it generally involves at least four months in prison and at least $4,000 in fines.
There are three types of DUIs, each taking into account BAC levels and other factors, such as a previous conviction or whether any minors were in the vehicle. There are also just as many options to avoid the whole drunk driving fiasco and find a safe way home.