Car Breathalyzer Devices, also called Ignition Interlock Devices (IID), are a small device that is about the size of a cell phone. The device is connected to your vehicle’s ignition system. You can find your local ignition interlock installer below.
Indiana’s OWI and Ignition Interlock Laws
Indiana ignition interlock laws require that an ignition interlock device (IID, also known as an in-car breathalyzer) is installed on an offender’s vehicle after the 2nd violation of Indiana OWI laws.
A 1st OWI offense is a Class C Misdemeanor charge carrying penalties including probation, a $500 fine, license suspension up to 90 days, and if the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .15 or over, a jail sentence of up to 60 days.
A 2nd OWI offense is a Class D felony charge carrying penalties including a jail term of between five days and three years, and at least 180 hours of community service. Your license will be suspended for between 90 days and two years, and you also face fines of up to $10,000. In Indiana, you are labeled a second-time offender if you have had a previous OWI conviction within the last five years. You may also have to undergo drug and alcohol assessment and treatment. You may be eligible to obtain probationary driving privileges after serving an initial period of your suspension. As a condition of obtaining driving privileges, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
A 3rd OWI offense is a Class D Felony, warranting between 10 days and three years in jail, 360 hours of community service, and a fine of up to $10,000. Your license can be suspended for up to two years and you will have to undergo a drug and alcohol assessment and treatment. You may be eligible to obtain probationary driving privileges after serving an initial period of your suspension. As a condition of obtaining driving privileges, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
Indiana Ignition Interlock Resources
- Indiana’s Bureau of Motor Vehicles: https://www.in.gov/bmv/
- Indiana’s Driver Record: https://www.in.gov/bmv/resources/driver-record/
- Visit in.gov/bmv to find out when your driving privileges can be reinstated in Indiana and to download a copy of your certified driving record. If the eligibility date is listed as “indefinite” then there are some requirements you must complete before your license can be reinstated.
- Bring the following to your installation appointment: your current registration or title, proof of insurance, court referral paperwork and a permission slip from the vehicle’s registered owner if you don’t own the vehicle to be installed (alternatively, the owner may appear and sign a waiver).
- Once the requirements have been completed, contact the court so that they can send the information to the BMV. You cannot notify the BMV directly.
- Your insurance provider must provide proof of insurance as required on your Viewable Driver Record or Official Driver Record. Have your insurance provider submit the form (e.g. SR-50 or SR-22) to the IN BMV. You cannot submit the forms to the BMV yourself.
- Pay all insurance and/or reinstatement fees as noted on your Viewable Driver Record or Official Driver Record. You may pay those fees online, by phone at 888-692-6841, or by mail.
How much does an interlock cost in Indiana?
Every situation and state is unique, please consult with your attorney or your state licensing authority to confirm your requirements and obligations.
The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. This website contains links to other third-party websites for the convenience of our readers. Links from Car Breathalyzer Help to other sites, or from other sites to the Car Breathalyzer Help, do not constitute an endorsement by Car Breathalyzer Help.