Despite being one of the top five states with the most drunk driving-related fatalities per 100,000 people in 2007, according to Forbes, Wyoming had only 38 drunk driving-related fatalities in 2011, making up 28 percent of total traffic deaths that year. However, the state’s low number might have more to do with the fact that Wyoming has the smallest population of any state than with its drunk driving laws. While Wyoming expanded its ignition interlock law in 2011 to include first-time offenders with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.15 or higher and all repeat offenders, the state does not require interlocks for all first-time offenders and is one of ten states with a law against sobriety checkpoints.
Anyone who operates a vehicle with a BAC of 0.08 or higher in Wyoming is guilty of driving under the influence (DUI). First, second, and third DUI offenses within 10 years are misdemeanors while a fourth offense within 10 years is elevated to a felony. Consequences include a fine, jail time, driver’s license suspension, substance abuse assessment, and, if needed, substance abuse treatment.
- 1st Conviction: up to $750 fine; up to 6 months in jail; 90-day license suspension
- 2nd Conviction: $200-$750 fine; 7 days to 6 months in jail; 1-year license suspension
- 3rd Conviction: $750-$3,000 fine; 30 days to 6 months in jail; 3-year license suspension
- 4th and Subsequent Convictions: up to $10,000 fine; up to 7 years in jail; 3-year license suspension
If the DUI offense resulted in the serious bodily injury of another person, the fine increases to $2,000 to $5,000 and jail time increases to up to 10 years, or 20 years if the offender was previously convicted of the same offense. If the offender committed the offense while a child under the age of 16 was in the vehicle, he or she must pay an additional fine of up to $750 and spend 1 year in jail, or 5 years in jail if the offender was previously convicted of the same offense.
Ignition Interlock Law
First-time offenders with a BAC of 0.15 or higher and all repeat offenders are required to install an ignition interlock in their vehicles in order to have their driving privileges reinstated after the license suspension period ends.
- 1st Conviction (0.15 BAC+): 6 months
- 2nd Conviction: 1 year
- 3rd Conviction: 2 years
- 4th and Subsequent Convictions: Permanent installation (may apply for removal after five years from the date of conviction)