In case you missed it, a low blood alcohol concentration (BAC), no harm or injury first-time California DUI will result in almost $2,000 in fines, a 48-hour jail sentence or a 90-day restricted license. While you may be required to attend an alcohol treatment program or your vehicle could be impounded, one big change is headed into the books: an all-offender California ignition interlock requirement.
A California ignition interlock could even be ordered before you get into court for a DUI
California ignition interlock devices are installed into a DUI offender’s vehicle to prevent any driving if alcohol is detected. By submitting a breath sample when starting your vehicle and periodically as the vehicle is driven, drunk driving offenders are given the chance to prove their sobriety behind the wheel. California is not only making ignition interlock devices mandatory in 2018, but the state also allows you to install the device instead of serving out your DMV license suspension.
If you don’t install a California ignition interlock as ordered by the court, or decide to drive on your suspended license, you could face the following:
- Driving without a California ignition interlock is a violation and you could face imprisonment for up to 6 months and/or by a fine of no more than $5,000.
- Having another person breathe into the device for you is a violation of the agreement with similar penalties as above.
- Tampering with or circumventing the device will cause your license to be suspended for a year, after which you will be required resume your ignition interlock requirement if you intend to drive.
A California ignition interlock device gives you back your freedom to drive as you did before your DUI happened. Not only that, but other drivers on the road are assured that you are sober while doing so. Once the all-offender ignition interlock policy is implemented next year, we can be sure to see much safer streets and happier nights out across California.