A California wet reckless charge is another name for a reckless driving charge that occurs under the influence of alcohol. As of 2012, people convicted of wet reckless offenses (instead of a DUI) can opt to have an administrative license suspension (ALS) with a restricted driver’s license after 90 days of the ALS. The catch? That restricted license requires an ignition interlock installation on the offender’s vehicle.
Even though it isn’t a DUI, a California wet reckless conviction is just as serious.
Whether as part of a plea bargain or the final charge by authorities, a California wet reckless incident still put lives in danger. It may not have the same criminal consequences, but you will be required to prove your determination to remain sober while driving. Those steps include providing the following:
- A verification of installation form for the ignition interlock device.
- Proof of enrollment certificate or notice of completion from a 9+ month alcohol treatment program.
- Proof of insurance.
- A $40 administrative service fee will also be required along with a $15 optional restriction fee along with any other miscellaneous fees.
Your California wet reckless charge means you’ll have to install an ignition interlock device if you intend to drive. Outside of four counties in the state that require the device for all DUI offenders, your wet reckless charge may give you more freedom to drive legally (even with a restricted license) than a criminal DUI conviction. That’s because the state has yet to require devices for all DUI offenses across the state, a safety issue that will hopefully be resolved by the end of August.
Until the laws are updated, a person with a wet reckless conviction has the ability to keep driving, as long as an ignition interlock is installed. Given the success of the devices when used, it is only a matter of time before a DUI is given the same privilege as a wet reckless in California.