There are a lot of factors that go into a drunk driving conviction. Starting with the first inkling that a person may be driving under the influence, through the process of a roadside sobriety test or chemical blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test. The one thing in all of that process that cannot be denied in court is when a Mississippi BAC number is at or above the legal limit.
Mississippi BAC levels are defined as follows:
.08 percent BAC: the legal, per se limit for DUI that meets the national limit. In Mississippi, if you are at or above .08 percent BAC, you will face criminal charges and if you are convicted, you will be ordered to pay fines, court costs and possibly be evaluated for an alcohol addiction. You will be required to install and maintain an ignition interlock device, too.
.02 percent BAC: for anyone under the age of 21, this is the “zero tolerance” limit for underage DUI. In most cases, a criminal underage DUI in Mississippi will result in the suspension or revocation of a driver’s license on top of court costs, alcohol education programs and a possible ignition interlock requirement.
Unlike other states, there are no extra penalties for a Mississippi BAC at or above .15 percent. Additionally, a Mississippi ignition interlock device is calibrated to prevent a driver from operating a vehicle if their BAC measures between .02 – .04 percent.
Although it may be a few bits of fun trivia to know the Mississippi BAC limits, the best way to stay out of trouble is to just have a safe ride home if you know you’ll be drinking. It can be a slippery slope from counting your drinks to estimate your personal BAC to ending up in the back of a squad car. Take the easy road and plan your exit strategy before leaving for the night.