We can all only hope that in time, our mistakes fade away and we are left with little more than the wisdom learned during those troubled times. Like when we have a DUI. But not everyone gets the danger, or make the right choices, even after one drunk driving conviction. In Virginia, and across the U.S., each additional DUI comes at a higher price, as long as that state has a “lookback”period that counts the convictions within a specific amount of time. Virginia, however, has a different way of looking at multiple DUI convictions, especially those that happen within the Commonwealth’s “lookback” periods.
Virginia has two different ways of “looking back” on multiple DUI offenses, especially with the third conviction that is acquired. For instance, if you have three DUI convictions in five years, you are facing:
- At least six months in jail.
- $1,000 or more in fines.
- A felony conviction.
- Potential vehicle seizure OR mandatory ignition interlock requirement.
On the other hand, if you are facing a third DUI conviction in 10 years, you will have less of a mandatory, minimum jail commitment (90 days), but, you could be incarcerated for up to five years, total. Plus, the same requirements for VASAP, an ignition interlock, etc., will apply within the 10-year “lookback” period as it does within the 5-year “lookback” period.
A Virginia DUI can be life-altering, in many ways, and despite a person’s best efforts, mistakes can be repeated… even more than once. Since the consequences for a DUI in Virginia increase dramatically with each incident, there are better ways to learn from mistakes than to continue making them, however. Considering some states, like Massachusetts and Kansas, have a “lifetime lookback” period for DUI, Virginia gives all drunk driving offenders a break after making mistakes, in hopes that the lessons learned will provide a road to better decisions in the future.