Finding yourself in an Oklahoma courtroom facing DUI charges isn’t exactly what you planned. You may have gone out with some friends, hit up a bar, and then thought you were okay to drive home. Unfortunately, you were not okay, and you were arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol. Now, you have to wait to find out what a judge says about your mistake, and bear the burden of getting your life back after a DUI.
Depending on the circumstances surrounding your arrest, your first-offense DUI in Oklahoma could mean a few things:
- You may be ordered to serve time in jail, up to one year.
- You will have to pay a $1,000 fine.
- Your driver’s license will be suspended for 180 days.
- You may be ordered to install a car breathalyzer or ignition interlock device.
If you are ordered to install a car breathalyzer or ignition interlock after your license suspension period, you are looking at a mandatory 18-month time requirement with the device. This requirement is specifically for first-time offenders who had a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of .15 percent or higher at the time of their arrest. Subsequent DUI offenses will require a much longer ignition interlock requirement, and even if your BAC was lower than .15 percent, you could still have a requirement, as well.
18 months is a long time to commit to proving your sobriety when driving, but, it is time well spent when it comes to reducing dangers on the roads. With an ignition interlock requirement, you get to keep driving and maintain your responsibilities while also having a reminder to drink responsibly, as well. Your choice to drink and drive may have been a lapse in judgment, and with an ignition interlock device, you are assured that you will not have to have another DUI day in court again.