When in Texas, make sure that you are safe when drinking and following the state’s guidelines for underage DWI. Last year alone, there were 13,510 Texas underage DWI crashes that resulted in 535 fatalities and 1,355 serious injuries. Those statistics take into account young drivers, particularly those who may have been enjoying the state’s many spring break experiences. Those statistics also add up to a major problem that affects families across the U.S.
Fortunately, Texas is on top of things with a new, special campaign directed at reducing the number of Texas underage DWI incidents… before students hit the college campuses for a new academic year. Plan While You Can gives students a realistic look at what could happen if they are convicted of a Texas underage DWI, including up to $17,000 in court costs, fines, and associated expenses.
Criteria for a Texas underage DWI includes:
- The impaired driver is under the age of 21.
- The driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) measures above 0 percent (any amount of alcohol is grounds for a DWI charge/conviction).
Parents may have the biggest impact on the behaviors of their children, even those who are legal adults. Keeping lines of communication open can be a big help when college age adults, and setting boundaries for your vehicle if your adult child is using it. A Texas underage DWI has the potential to affect a parent’s life, especially if a student’s license is suspended or revoked or if there is an ignition interlock requirement.
Plan While You Can gives students the options all adults have when the time comes to head out for the night. By understanding the resources available for a safe and sober ride home, we all benefit from the good judgment of others. Staying safe and keeping others from harm is a simple process that reminds us to plan for safety, not a $17,000 ride or worse.