After a DUI the last thing you need is a monthly expense on top of the court costs, fines, and other fees. You’re ready to start your life over, but the cost of an ignition interlock may be adding insult to injury. Nevertheless, the device is your ticket to a better life once the dust settles. In West Virginia, an individual convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) must participate in the State’s Alcohol Test and Lock Program (ATLP). Part of the ATLP is the use of a West Virginia interlock, or ignition interlock device (IID). An IID must be installed on all vehicles owned or operated by the offender and must be serviced at regular intervals.
Within sixty (60) days of installing an IID through a state-approved service provider, individuals must enroll in the ATLP.
Employer-owned vehicles without an IID installed on them may only be operated at the job site and the job site may not include public streets or highways. Offenders are responsible for all costs associated with the use of a West Virginia interlock, including regular maintenance. Any evidence of attempts to tamper with, circumvent, or otherwise, bypass use of the IID results in jail time and fines. How long an offender must use an IID depends upon a number of factors including blood alcohol content (BAC), previous convictions, and harm inflicted.
Owners of vehicles who allow individuals under the influence to operate their vehicles face revocation of their driving privileges and the West Virginia interlock.
IIDs authorized for use in West Virginia require rolling re-tests and failure of a rolling re-test activates the vehicle’s horn. The horn will blast until either the re-test is passed or the vehicle is turned off.
Now that you know WHY you need a West Virginia interlock, here’s the cost breakdown:
The first thing that you will have to pay are the fees to have your license reinstated. After those are paid, then the interlock device installation happens. Typically, the offender must pay for the ignition interlock device installation. The installation costs around $50 to $200.
There is a monthly rental fee for the device. This fee ranges from $50 to $100. This is a minimal cost in comparison to losing your license. You will also be responsible for maintenance expenses as well as fees for downloading the data from the ignition interlock device. You will also be required to come in for scheduled appointments to have your ignition interlock device calibrated, or to have the records downloaded and the device reset so that you can keep driving. Going in for calibration appointments is extremely important. The device will normally need to be checked every 60 days. Failure to maintain the device can be seen as a violation of the ignition interlock program.
The cost of a West Virginia interlock is nothing in comparison to waiting out a suspended license or spending time in jail. If you think the price is too high, perhaps spend a few dollars on a safe ride home and forget the additional hassle.