Spring break is a time-honored tradition for many college students. What could be better than a week of fun in the sun, especially when that fun happens in Florida? As a top spring break destination, Florida has seen its fair share of college age students who aren’t legally able to drink somehow discover a beer or fruity cocktail has made it into their underage hands. But, as with any other time of the year, underage drinking in Florida is illegal, even during spring break.
There are plenty of reasons for the legal drinking age to be 21 years old, even if that excludes a majority of college students from legally drinking. Brain development is impacted by alcohol use, and there are studies that prove a person cannot make fully responsible decisions until they are well into their 20s, much less under the influence of alcohol. Plus, there is the inexperience of drinking before 21 that can lead to dangerous situations like alcohol poisoning and drunk driving.
Because of the concerns over underage drinking in Florida, law enforcement increases its presence during Spring Break – both for public drinking and to prevent minors from drinking and driving. If you are under 21 and caught with any alcoholic beverages, you’ll face a $500 fine and possibly the loss of your driver’s license. If you’re convicted of drinking and driving, those penalties increase dramatically and could include a car breathalyzer or ignition interlock requirement.
The temptation to drink during spring break is everywhere, but, there is no reason to risk your college career and your life for the buzz of a few beers. In Florida, there are plenty of opportunities for fun that don’t involve alcohol, especially during Spring Break. With the countless beaches, water activities and other recreational places you can enjoy, your time is better spent remaining sober and remembering the fun of Spring Break rather than facing a judge and the consequences of underage drinking in Florida.