Driving under the influence in any state in this country is not a wise choice. A DUI/OWI conviction will impact you for the rest of your life. It can prevent you from exercising certain privileges and rights, prevent you from future employment, and even impact your educational opportunities.
In the state of Wisconsin, the penalties for an OWI are generally strict. However, they’re nothing when compared to the penalties for a Wisconsin Aggravated OWI. An aggravated OWI is one in which one or more of the following aggravating circumstances are present:
- Extremely High BAC – over .15%
- Minors in the Vehicle
- Multiple DUI Convictions
The increased penalties for a Wisconsin Aggravated OWI depend on which of the above aggravating circumstances are present. For example, if you’re pulled over for an OWI with a minor under the age of 16 present in your vehicle for a first time OWI offense, you will receive double or more the usual penalties for a first offense. The penalties for a first-time offense OWI usually include a fine of $150-$300 and a 6-9 month license suspension. However, if you’re convicted of a Wisconsin Aggravated DUI with a child passenger your penalties will include jail time of at least 5 days and up to 6 months, fines of at least $350 up to $1,100, and license revocation period for a minimum of 12 months and up to 18 months.
With a standard OWI conviction, an ignition interlock device is not required on a first offense in Wisconsin, however, it can be used to cancel out your revocation period and is required if your BAC was .15% or over at the time of your OWI charge but also cancels out your revocation. For subsequent offenses, it is required and you will also be required to serve a portion of your revocation period before you can have the ignition interlock installed and regain some or all of your driving privileges.
When planning for a night out on the town, don’t forget to plan for a safe ride home. Putting yourself and others in danger is never the right choice.