We all make mistakes. Some of those mistakes can be big or lead to big regrets. When we are already a few drinks into a bar celebration, the last thing we begin to think about are our chances for a Colorado DUI. Because of those drinks, we may even seem more okay to drive as the night goes on. Unfortunately, that feeling is a big mistake that could quickly result in a drunk driving charge or much, much worse.
Colorado DUI laws ensure the safety of other motorists on the roads. The state has per se DUI laws as well as DWAI laws, both of which are based on the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of the offender at the time of their arrest. A DWAI is a lesser BAC charge that is treated almost like a DUI, but with slightly less strict penalties when your BAC is less than the .08 percent limit, but you are driving erratically.
For a first-offense Colorado DUI (BAC .08 percent or higher), you could face the following:
- Five days to a year in jail.
- Court fines $600-$1,000.
- 24-48 hours of community service.
Colorado also has administrative penalties for drunk driving, that include a nine-month license suspension. A first offense Colorado DUI doesn’t carry a mandatory ignition interlock requirement. But you could still be eligible for reinstatement of your driver’s license if you install the device your vehicle, and any others you have access to.
If treatment for alcohol abuse or addiction is sought, the mandatory jail time can be reduced by the court. Colorado can also require offenders to pay for programs for persistent drunk drivers, victim compensation funds or other fees and penalties.
There is a lot that can happen after a Colorado DUI, but most of that depends on you and your commitment to sober driving.