Anytime you plan to go out for a night of drinking in Illinois, you should have a plan in mind for your ride home. Drunk driving is rarely on anyone’s to-do list, and it is mostly a result of poor planning. At least that’s the story the first time it happens. For a second Illinois DUI, things change. Not only do the penalties and consequences increase, but there is a higher sense of judgment felt by those facing second (or higher) DUI charges in court and through the DMV.
Court consequences for a second Illinois DUI include:
- Class A misdemeanor.
- Minimum incarceration of five days or 240 hours of community service.
- Revocation of driving privileges for at least five years (if second conviction occurs within 20 years of any previous drunk driving convictions).
- With a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .16 or more, add two additional days in jail and a mandatory, minimum fine of $1,250.
- If the second Illinois DUI occurs while transporting a child under age 16 (Aggravated DUI), an offender will face a class 4 felony (class 2 if an injury to a child occurs), $5,000 fine and 25 days of community service in a child-focused program.
In addition to the court penalties, a second Illinois DUI has administrative (DMV) sanctions, too:
- $580 to fully reinstate driver’s license after revocation.
- Provide proof of financial responsibility (SR-22).
- Complete a drug or alcohol abuse evaluation, enroll in treatment if recommended.
- Install and maintain a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID).
The first time you make a mistake and end up with a DUI, you have plenty of opportunities to ensure the same problem does not happen again. The second time you endanger others on the roads the law starts to get serious about the consequences and penalties. Everyone can make a mistake – even more than once. It’s what happens next that determines how you and others view your commitment to sober driving.