In 2011, Hawaii had only 44 drunk driving-related fatalities. While that number might not seem like much, 44 percent of Hawaii’s total traffic fatalities that year were drunk driving-related, making drunk driving a high concern in the island state. In fact, Hawaii is self-proclaimed to be one of the worst states in the U.S. in terms of the percent of total traffic crash fatalities related to alcohol, despite measures legislators have taken to combat drunk driving.
However, in 2011, Hawaii finally passed an ignition interlock law that Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) believes is already helping to reduce drunk driving fatalities in the state. The law requires all convicted drunk drivers to install the device in their vehicles. MADD reports that 1,400 interlocks were installed by the second year of Hawaii’s interlock program.
Anyone who operates a vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 or higher in Hawaii is guilty of driving under the influence (DUI), punishable by a fine, jail time, driver’s license revocation, and possible community service.
- 1st Offense (and any repeat offense that occurs five or more years after a previous conviction): $150-$1,000 fine; 48 hours to 5 days in jail; 1-year license revocation
- 2nd Offense: $500-$1,500 fine; 5 to 30 days in jail or 240 hours of community service; 18-month to 2-year license revocation
- 3rd Offense: $500-$2,500 fine; 10 to 30 days in jail; 2-year license revocation
First-time offenders (and repeat offenders whose offenses occur five or more years after a previous conviction), are also required to participate in a 14-hour minimum substance abuse rehabilitation program and may have to complete 72 hours of community service work.
All offenders must pay a surcharge of up to $25 for the neurotrauma special fund and up to $25 or $50 for the trauma system special fund.
Anyone who commits a DUI offense while a person under the age of 15 was in the vehicle must pay an additional $500 and serve an additional 48 hours in jail. The offender will also have their license revoked for at least two years.
Ignition Interlock Laws
All convicted DUI offenders, including first-time offenders, are required to install an ignition interlock device in all vehicles they operate. However, instead of installing the device once the license revocation period is over, offenders install the device during the revocation period in order to continue driving. The offenders must keep the interlock device installed for the length of their revocation period.