If you’re under 21, you know that you can’t buy alcohol, and in Virginia, there are only certain circumstances where it is legal for you to drink a beer or a glass of wine… with your parents, at home. Despite knowing the laws about alcohol, we all know that underage drinking happens and most of the time, it’s not seen as a big deal. But, consider this – since you can’t legally buy alcohol, you’re probably putting an adult in some legal trouble or about to face a judge for your own actions. The big question is, how much is that six-pack worth?
Convincing an adult to buy your alcohol may seem like an easy road to intoxication, but, you could be putting them into the line of fire with a judge. Underage drinking is a huge factor in drunk driving accidents, both of which are avoidable situations. As such, an adult who supplies your alcohol in Virginia can get into a lot of trouble for his or her efforts, including:
- Up to $2,500 fine
- Mandatory driver’s license suspension up to one year
- One-year jail sentence
In 2011, Virginia’s underage drinking laws increased the penalties for your actions, too. If you are caught driving with a .02 blood alcohol concentration (BAC), or higher, you will lose your driver’s license for a year, pay a fine and will have to complete 50 hours of community service. If you are convicted of a DUI in Virginia, in addition to the underage penalties, you will also be sentenced as an adult, with higher fines, possible jail time and the installation of an ignition interlock device.
So, how much is that six-pack worth?
Any adult who purchases alcohol for a minor can face criminal charges, turning your night of drinking with friends into a huge guilt trip and a legal nightmare for everyone involved. Underage drinking is not worth the frustration, and by staying sober, you are keeping yourself and your friends safe from harm.