Not all ignition interlock programs are created equally, so if we had a reason to pick the best one in the country, West Virginia would definitely be a strong contender for the title. Our special place in the fight for sober roads has taught us a few lessons in how people view these programs, including DUI offenders, attorneys, law enforcement officers or program monitors. We like how easy West Virginia makes it to understand their Alcohol Test and Lock Program, because that makes it easy for a DUI offender to recover and get back on the road to a better life.
For a first-time DUI offender, the West Virginia Alcohol Test and Lock Program allows you to
- Skip the administrative hearing if you opt for an ignition interlock device.
- Track your “demerits” (if any) so you remain compliant and can have your device removed on schedule.
- Apply for financial assistance to afford the ignition interlock.
If you have no other DUI convictions, pending charges, or other license suspensions or violations, you can qualify for the program. You also need to have proof that you own the vehicle the interlock will be installed in (or, have permission from the owner), proof of your enrollment in the Safety and Treatment Program within 60 days after beginning the Alcohol Test and Lock Program, and that you are at least 18 years old.
West Virginia gets a “gold star” for always staying on top of DUI laws and putting safety first. In 2015, the state increased the penalties for DUIs, including a mandatory felony charge if there is a fatality as a result of drinking and driving. Making it easy to acquire an interlock and understand the full scope of the program is just another way the state keeps making strides against drunk drivers and shows the rest of the country what that dedication can do for the safety on the streets.